Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

February Board Recognition

An important event for our choral students is the Kentucky Music Educators Association All-State Choir.  Each year we have talented young singers chosen for this event. The KMEA All-State Choir event is traditionally held during the KMEA conference in Louisville the first week of February.  Ten Montgomery County High School students were selected by a successful audition.  These students represented MCHS in spectacular fashion at the conference.  Congratulations to the following MCHS students who made the 2019 KMEA All-State Choir: Avery Conn Peyton Garrison, Skylar Holley, Allison Jouett, Alyssa Jouett, Alexa Swartz, Rebecca Wallingford, Katie Webb, Matalyn Webb, and Kelli Willoughby.

All-State Choir


On Saturday, February 9th Montgomery County High School orchestra students performed at the Kentucky Music Educators Association (KMEA) Conference in the KMEA All-State Orchestras in Louisville.  Over the course of three days, students participated in over 24 hours of rigorous rehearsal on extremely challenging music with other highly qualified students from across the state.  James May placed in the Commonwealth Orchestra and finished in the top 18 basses in the state. Raymond You placed 12th chair, second violin in the Commonwealth orchestra.  Avery Conn placed 11th chair, first violin in the Commonwealth Orchestra, placing her in the top 50 violins in the state out of hundreds. Elliott King placed 8th chair bass in the Symphony Orchestra.  Elliott’s audition placed him with an outstanding 7th overall in the state.  Congratulations to our MCHS Orchestra students who made the 2019 KMEA All-State Orchestra

All-State Orchestra


The school spelling bees were held in the district, with third through eighth-grade students to determine each school champion. Each school champion qualified to go on to the University of Kentucky Regional Spelling Bee that was recently held at Worsham Cinema in the Gatton Student Center. Congratulations to the Spelling Bee School Champions: Camargo-Keegan Miller, Mapleton-Madelyn Thurman, MSE-Jefferson Oldfield, Northview-Kennedy Johnson, and McNabb-Mason Manning.

Spelling Bee Champions


Each school district was invited to design a banner for display at the 83rd Annual Kentucky School Boards Association Conference that was recently held at the Galt House in Louisville. The banners are a very important contribution to the conference, reminding attendees of schools' primary focus -- learning and learners. In order to be displayed at the conference, the banner must identify the school district and depict the conference theme:

“Kentucky School Boards: Educate. Equip. Empower.”

Only one banner from each school district is allowed. Each school created a banner and we asked our students, staff, and community to vote for the one to represent Montgomery County at the KSBA annual conference. Northview received the most votes with 59% and represented the district! Congratulations to the following designers of Northview’s banner: Landon Barrier, Lexi Hamm, Georgia Ingram, and Olivia Robinson.

Back to School News      Print News Article

Contact Us

© 2019 Montgomery County Schools